Thoughts Upon Arrival (9/1/08)

Wellll, I arrived in the city at about 11 a.m. I put my bags down at the hotel (which was a GREAT spot that was NOT in Times Square, btw) and walked across Park Avenue to one of a million Starbuck’s in NYC. Like an idiot, I forgot my notebook and I have not cultivated the patience to write long entries on my Blackberry yet, so I settled for the blank back side of my printed boarding pass. Here’s what I wrote:
8/28/08  [12:28 p.m. (EST)]

So, I’m in NYC. As I rode through Lincoln Tunnel, reading A Belle in Brooklyn on my Blackberry, I thought “so this is the Big City, huh?” The streets are cramped, the drivers are aggressive and building are tall. Taller than the ones in Memphis, for sure.

But things aren’t that different (yet). There a Starbuck’s right across the street from the hotel. It’s packed with business-types, cool kids and students peering at their Mac laptop screens. The guy who just made my tall Caramel Frappacino (with extra caramel) is now at lunch. He is gathered at a table with his mom and little brother (I assume), eating a Popeye’s chicken dinner with fries as the side.

I guess some things will always be universal.

It’s Day 1, hour 2 of my first visit to Gotham City. Let’s see what else happens. I wonder where that Popeye’s is though….

Leave a Reply

