Mental Dump

So this is a first. Before I open my Outlook, check out Facebook or Twitter, Gmail and Yahoo….I’m blogging. You haven’t heard from me because despite a gazillion and one things going on in the world, in the state of Tennessee, even in Memphis, I haven’t had a thing to talk about. Quite frankly, some topics (Basketball Wives, etc.) just aren’t worth blog time–atleast not for me. I’ll save that for FB/Twitter chatter.

Today is just a venting session, as nothing noteworthy comes to mind even right now. I’ve got so much to do at my job, my head is spinning. Evaluations, communications plans, final grades….eh. Enter the dry erase board….

This ish right here (in my Katt Williams voice) is a lifesaver. I’m writer. I need to–have to write things down in order for it to register to me. I write notes and to-do lists on any and everything I can find: papers, composition books, old receipts. It’s something I’ve always done. It’s gotten through my grad school thesis, my homebuying process and now this…whatever it is I’m going through. But this is one is my work office! I can’t wait to hang it.

Speaking of boards, at some point I’m going to complete my dream board. What’s a dream board? Oprah can tell you, but really it’s just a creative collage. It’s a small piece of the Laws of Attraction puzzle. LOA are no-brainers. Believe, and it will come. Since our belief in ourselves can waver from time to time, I guess the board serves as a permanent reminder. I googled ‘Oprah Dream board’ and what do you know? You can make your own virtual dream board at Oprah.com.

Now,  I’m not Oprah d*ckriding (I blame Boondocks). I love her for her drive,  fabulousness (have you seen her closet?) and humanitarian efforts, but I’ve never been one to use Lady O as a go-to guide for anything. I actually stopped watching her show for a minute. All that said, I smell a PROJECT!

I’ve only got this one lifetime to make dreams come true so I better make the most of  it. Has anyone done a dream board or do you want to? Do you think it works?

5 thoughts on “Mental Dump

  1. Very interesting once again. I personally think a dream board is excellent and I would have to check Oprahs out. Its so much going on in my life, I have to write short and long term goals down to stay focused and as a reminder to me that to handle business and accomplish those goals and dreams imagined. So with that being said, create your dream board!

  2. Glad to see your back to blogging! I’m so happy to see another AA woman besides O who has a dream board! My family thinks I’m slightly retarded (probably because in addition to the dream home and business I have Micheal Vick on there too …a girl can dream). But I’m SUPER excited to know I can build one online too!
    (***Happy Clap***)

  3. I knew you would have one, Mellie!! You are one of those people who is always going to do what you set your mind to do. I’m going to try the online board this evening.

  4. I’ve been wanting to check your blog out for sometime now, and my first time I come upon this blog about the dream board. I’ve been wanting to do one for a while now, but me being the procrastinator that I am have yet to get it done. I’ve been saving mags just need to get other supplies. When I have my free time within the next few weeks, I will be sure to get it done!!!
    I believe that the dream board will serve as a reminder of the goals we have set before us, but will aid us to pray specifically on those things.
    Keep us posted on your progress on your dream board!

  5. I’ve been blessed with a very good memory so very rarely do I write things down. But I would be willing to try this.

Leave a Reply

