5 Most Depressing Songs I Can Think Of

Today I came across a couple of tweets in my timeline that had something in common. Each of them talked about songs that cause depression to set in. I don’t care who you are, if you love music (like me), you have music categorized in your head, and maybe in your iPod, according to emotion. If I want to dance, I turn on some Missy, Janet, MJ, some old Total and few others. Oh, can’t forget Diddy (gotta do my Diddy bop at some point). If I’m relaxed, I have my Jilly and  Badu.

If I’m feeling lovey dovey, there’s 112, Kels, my crush, The Dream and a ton of old school stuff. If I’m feeling a lil gangsta, there’s any record recorded by a Memphian (Ball & G, 3-6, Gotti) or UGK and Pac. But if I want to lay in my bed in the fetal position, or stare at the walls while sitting Indian style, I have music for that, too. Here’s a very short list of the most depressing songs I can think of off the top of my head. Enjoy…or don’t enjoy.

Where I Wanna Be ~ Donnell Jones

It was 1999, my freshman year of college, and Donnell was hot back then. He dropped this single and we (women) went crazy. For atleast three months straight, every time my suitemate heard the first two notes of that song, she damn near had a nervous break down. And every time I wanted someone to push me down the stairs backwards. Everyone on the planet must have been in fading relationships because it was played nonstop. If hearing this from the one you love doesn’t depress you, I don’t know what will:

Cuz when you love someone, you just don’t treat them bad

Oh, how I feel so sad now that I wanna leave

She’s crying her heart to me.

How could you let this be?

I just need time to see where I wanna be.

You Made a Fool of Me ~Me’Shell N’Degochello

Was I only the one on the verge of tears during the “play for your heart” basketball scene in Love and Basketball?

I want to kiss you
Does she want you with the pain that I do
I smell you in my dreams
But now when we’re face to face you won’t look me in the eye
No time no friendship no love
Don’t say don’t touch you I can’t touch you no more
Can’t touch you any more any more
I don’t touch you anymore

(Any song from the My Life album, but specifically) I”m Going Down ~ Mary J. Blige

When I bought My Life at age 14, I was clearly too young to understand what any of those songs meant, but when my friends and I popped that CD in, we turned into 30+ women who’d just been to hell and back…all at the expense of a man. I felt her voice, but I didn’t understand the place she was coming from then. From that point on, if I was feeling “some kinda way,” I turned to My Life, and as depressing as it was, somehow, I always felt better afterward.

Note: I actually DON’T like this song. It’s TOO depressing. This is my one and only “skip” song on My Life.

The Love I Never Had (Mary)

What a Debbie Downer, but oh, so true.

You know sometimes there come a time in your life
When you love something
You have to let it go
And even though you might feel there’s still something there
You have to wake up. Stop living in a dream
Cause it’s over now
You got to think about you

Tough love, huh?

Green Eyes ~ Erykah Badu

This is the break-up song. This song was proof  that even the most intriguing and fabulous get their fair share of heartbreak.

Never knew that love could hurt like this
Never thought I would but i got dissed
Makes me feel so bad and hurt inside
Feel embarrassed so I want to hide

Cause I Love You ~ Lenny Williams

No explanation needed, right? That was a hurt man. Ummph. *rocks back and forth*

I know I missed plenty. Add to the list!

15 thoughts on “5 Most Depressing Songs I Can Think Of

  1. Yes, just about anything Mary…And how about Vanessa Williams, Saved the Best for Last? It’s depressing to me because why do people do that? Why can’t people recognize that what they really want is right in front of them without having to go all over the place.

    • OMG! Used to love that song. She did have a depressing vibe about her! Oh, I should have added ANYTHING by Heather Headley! She makes me want to slit my wrist. smh

  2. Good ones! But “It Hurts Like Hell” by Aretha on the Waiting to Exhale soundtrack always had me in a river of my own tears. I don’t even listen to that soundtrack anymore.

  3. No way. “I Can’t Make You Love Me” Bonnie Raitt. Can’t make a grown man do nothing he don’t want to do, no matter how you try. Sade’s “Love Is Stronger Than Pride,” come on Alisha. Your break ups must have been lightweight or totally not your fault! Fun times, let me tell you!

  4. I, too, skip over “I’m Going Down” cuz it’s too depressing. And as for “Where I Wanna Be”, it’s sad and he sounds so selfish. *sigh*

    Other songs:
    “I’m Still Waiting” – Johnny Gill
    “Living All Alone” – Phyllis Hyman
    “Congratulations” – Vesta
    “Unbreak My Heart” – Toni Braxton
    “I’ll Always Love You” – Whitney
    “4 Seasons of Loneliness” – Boyz II Men
    “One Last Cry” – Brian McKnight
    “I’d Do It All Again” – Corinne Bailey Rae

  5. I got one for u: “No Happy Holiday” by MJB.
    “Christmas u were with me, New Year’s Eve u were not around. Valentines came and went, makes me wonder where your time is spent. Fireworks on the 4th if July. Thanksgiving was another lie. Your family has never met me and you’ve never met mine. No happy holiday.”

    this song makes me want to hang myself just typng the lyrics.!

  6. Some of the ones that would be on my list are already taken. Even with that, There’s still too many to list. But keep them coming.

  7. Lenny Williams Cause I Love you is definitely at the top of the list lol. The man said he watched television till television went off..Lawd help him lol

    One of my favs is an oldie but Goodie and even though I love it, if you are in a depressed love state it makes it worse lol The Manhattans-Kiss and Say Goodbye

  8. Blu Cantrell – I’ll Find A Way

    Hit ‘Em Up Style did that girl NO justice! I’ll Find A Way had me singing my heart out at the stoplight more times than I care to remember.

Leave a Reply

