Theme Music: Everyone Should Have Some

Like always, I was on Twitter…tweeting. Kanye finally dropped a new song, “Power” featuring Dwele last week. Kanye and Dwele? It must be hot. Before I listened, I asked followers if it was better than “Flashing Lights” since I now compare every Ye’ song to it (with the exception of anything from College Dropout. That’s vintage Kanye,’ and it’s not even 10 years old yet.

I got this response from @Enid19: ” It’s straight. But Flashing Lights is theme music! You play that in your head when walking and serving major ‘tude!”

She is so right. She can’t get no righter. “Flashing Lights” is major theme music. I remember Nip/Tuck’s season trailer was put to that song. Fire. That got me to thinking, what songs do I consider to my theme songs? Everyone has those songs that give them an extra pep in their step. Those songs that make you say, “I’m feelin’ myself right now.” I have about five. And yes, I expect to totally skip over some that should be obvious.

1.Excuse Me Miss ~ Jay-Z: From the first time I heard this song, I must’ve kept it on repeat for hours. Only my linesisters know the real story behind this song, but in addition to that, it’s just so damn sexy. By far, my favorite Jay song.

2. Flashing Lights ~ Kanye West: Believe it or not, this was really on my list. If I’d directed the video, there would have actually been actually flashing lights in the video. Have you heard it live? Sick.

3. On Fire ~ Weezy: Yeah, this song really does it for me. Maybe it’s the way they flipped that sample. Ignore the video, pay attention to the beat (and the words-kinda)

4. Booty ~ Erykah Badu: The Analog Girl showed confidence ain’t got nothing on, um, body parts.

5. Nasty Girl ~ Vanity 6: Again, no explanation. Every woman should love this–nasty girl, or not. It’s produced by PRINCE!

6. PYT ~ Michael Jackson: Did you really think I was going to have a list without Michael Jackson? I shudder at the thought.

7. Knock Yaself Out ~ Jadakiss: Tell me you don’t hit the runway (in your head) when you hear this…..No? I don’t believe you.

Honorable Mention(s) There She Goes ~ Babyface/ Pretty Girls ~ Wale

What are some of your personal theme songs?

16 thoughts on “Theme Music: Everyone Should Have Some

  1. I started to list that, but I just knew someone was gonna add it! I’ve been listening to that daily for the last week for some reason. Good one!

  2. That list is too long to list. It all depends on how I’m feeling on that particular day. That said, that is a very good list you have.

  3. Yes, mine is Southern Girl also, hence my Twitter name. Lol. Diva by Bey also gets me on anotha level…I transform! Man in the Mirror by MJ, and finally Breakin My Heart (Pretty Brown Eyes) by Mint Condition

  4. I’ve got a playlist FULL of these!!

    Like you, I’m a fan of “PYT” and Babyface’s “There She Goes.” Others include:

    Headturner – Joss Stone
    That Girl – Stevie Wonder
    Lady- Lenny Kravitz
    Conceited – Remy Ma
    Damn Girl – Justin Timberlake

  5. My list would be WAY too long, I couldn’t even begin to narrow it down lol. I have at least 4 songs for every emotion, then there are sons that go with significant moments in my life…we’d be here all day!

    Your list was great! As a BK girl I absolutely love anything Jay & Excuse Me Miss is just super sexy…he was so grown on that track! P.Y.T is my 2nd fav MJ song after Rock With You and Jada holds a special place for me because well…he’s Jada lol & because I was actually at this video shoot with my former boss. Ooooh the stories I could tell!!!

  6. Wow, I would agree w/some of the ones you listed and I would say Get Me Bodied by Beyonce. It reminds me of me and my girls getting ready to go out. Fun times.

  7. Luv the List!!!! My list is ridiculously long….but for now song right now would have to be Pretty Girls by Wale, OMG by Usher and I’m Beamin’ by Lupe…..those songs make me feel like I am the shizzznet!!!! Anytime they come one…I’m totally dancing in my head, and sometimes out loud…..LOL!

      • I KNOOOOW!!!!! LOVE, LOVE, LOVE IT!!!!

        And I just heard the theme song for ALL SU alums…..Slow Down, Bobby V…..Everybody and they momma was trying to walk to that song in somebodies fashion show…..ahh…the memories.

      • Yes! “Slow Down” is the all time fav. I came back for something and everybody killed themselves trying to get to the dancefloor. lol

  8. Girl, me and you both with Excuse Me Miss…and PYT for that matter.

    For some reason, I am in love with Jay’s “Feelin’ It” and “Say Hello.” They both make me think I should be riding about 68 with shades on.

  9. Erykah Badu – Penitentiary Philosophy; Cleva; Booty; Apple Tree

    Kanye – Spaceship (work anthem); Never Let Me Down; Stronger; I Wonder; Can’t Tell Me Nothing; Everything I Am

    Maze f. Frankie Beverly – Golden Time of Day; We are One

    Ok, I’ll stop here!

Leave a Reply

