Multipotentiality or the Lynn Syndrome?

You short-minded niggas’ thoughts is Napoleon
My furs is Mongolian, my ice brought the goalies in
Now I embody every characteristic of the egotistic
He know, he so, fuckin’ gifted
I just needed time alone, with my own thoughts
Got treasures in my mind but couldn’t open up my own vault
My childlike creativity, purity and honesty
Is honestly being prodded by these grown thoughts

Reality is catchin’ up with me
Takin’ my inner child, I’m fighting for it, custody
With these responsibilities that they entrusted me

 

What’s your passion?

How many times have you been asked that question? Do you have a plausible answer or do you just BS you way through. It’s a common question as America and its entrepreneurial spirit push us to find what makes us tick to point that we could making a living by doing solely that–forever. If you’re like me, most days you can answer the question confidently, others, not so much. Passion is defined as, ” a strong liking or desire for or devotion to some activity, object, or concept.” 

I was hoping for a deeper definition. Sigh.  We can have a strong like or devotion to a number of things and people. Today, a friend posted this in his Facebook status:

I’m the best at something……still trying to figure out what it is.

After giving him some encouraging words, I realized that I felt the same way.  Notice that he says he wants to find out what he’s the best at, so obviously, he already acknowledges that he’s good at a few things. Good isn’t good enough though. He added that he was waiting for the “lightbulb” to go off, as Oprah says about what he’s supposed to be doing for the rest of his life.  How many celebrities have you heard say since yea high, they’ve known what they wanted to do? I wonder if they’re lying, honestly. What happens to the average every day person then? When do we get it? Is this a major difference between us and them, or a difference in the drive, opportunity and sacrifice?

Anyone who knows me well or maybe even just a little should know that I write. It’s what I do. No, I don’t do it every morning and night, but I do it. It’s just about the only thing that I’ve good at since I was younger. Is it a passion or is it just something I’m good at? I struggle with that often.

Another friend who is probably a genius herself, posted about multipotentiality, or the condition in which someone is good at several unrelated things. It’s common among gifted children. From Wikipedia:

“Because gifted students generally have diverse interests across numerous domains and may be capable of success in many endeavors or professions, they are confronted with unique decisions as a result of these choices. When encountering multiple opportunities, some students may experience confusion, anxiety and frustration because they fear missing something or making a wrong decision.” -“An Investigation of Multipotentiality Among University Honors Students” Laurie Diane Shute, University of Connecticut (Dissertation)

Sounds dead on to me. Especially the frustration part.

If it’s possible to really good–or great at many different things, why are made to feel like we have to pick one thing, and stick to it? I write. I dabble and have great experience in public relations, and I teach. I actually switched job positions because I was burnt out in teaching financial management workshops. Now, I do something totally different that I’m definitely not passionate about. I regret making the switch atleast every other week. In fact, I like teaching. It comes naturally and I’m pretty good at it, but passionate? Depends on the subject being taught.

The Facebook discussion continued and another friend added, ” Multipotentiality sounds like a big word for a jack-of-all-trades and a master of none. You gotta take a realistic look at yourself and your professional accomplishments.What makes u the most fulfilled? What was the last big indie paycheck? At this age we gotta do what makes sense.”

Sounds like the Lynn Syndrome to me. How dreadful. Of course, you remember Lynn Searcy, one-fourth of the beloved Girlfriends cast. She changed degrees and careers like drawers and couldn’t seem to commit to anything. But hey, after countless pep talks from friends, even she found her passion, music. It only took her a few years well into her 30s. Great.

So the final questions I pose are these: Can anyone be multipotential or are we just plain old confused? Are we all multipotential in a way or just unwilling to commit like Lynn? Finally, how do you find your passion? If you figure out, let me know, please! Maybe everyone who has these thoughts just need to practice patience.

Thoughts?

3 thoughts on “Multipotentiality or the Lynn Syndrome?

  1. I believe your passion is what you’d love to do every day of your life, free of charge… the thing that drives you… gives you hope and encouragement.

    Like you, I started writing at a young age, was published, interviewed celebs, etc… all before I hit 16. I always loved writing and naturally assumed it was my passion. As I’ve gotten older, however, I’ve realized that writing is a love of mine but interacting with various people, learning their stories and traveling the world is a passion that I have.

    My latest “ultimate goal” is to end up on this 94 day cruise around the Pacific Ocean, writing for a travel magazine or my blog… though it’d be nice to have someone else pay for the trip lol.

    I think a life without passion is boring and lackluster, yet someone that has no direction, focus or follow-thru is a mess too. You can chase your dreams and discover different things you like, but you must always stay balanced and take care of your responsibilities.

  2. Hmmmm? This week, I have found myself questioning my potential and where life is taking me. I’m in the pursuit of something right now that I have worked so hard to achieve as it seems so close but yet so far. In this pursuit I believe that God has shown me my purpose. In due season the goal will manifest, but will it be my passion? Yes, it will afford me many luxuries and opportunities even a chance to act in my purpose, but after the struggle, prayers, sacrifices and tears will it be my passion?
    I’m currently working in the field but not in the position nor making the pay. I’m only there maybe 3 or 4 days of the week and its harder by the day to wake up to the alarm and even harder to walk through the building with the feeling of “happy to be here.” Is it because I’m not in the position that I want to be in or is there a lack of passion?

    As I’m reading this I began to think of my Mother who is very much so “mulitipotential.” She’s an attorney who always had her own practice (no longer practicing full time by choice, author, CEO of a non-profit school, and full time in ministry as an Elder of her own church, and her list goes on. Many people always tells me how I’m so much like her (which is a great thing), but do I really want to operate in “multipotentiality?”

    Whatever happened to the simpleness of life?

    Queen

  3. Oh yeah, its crazy because my Mother has a passion for everything she does. Or maybe what she really has is a passion for people.

    I just don’t know. This blog is definitely food for thought…

Leave a Reply

