I Can’t Think of a Title. It’s Monday.

It’s Monday. No lighthearted lists. No thought-provoking posts. No flashback post, just random stuff on my mind.

First, I think I’m getting sick. My throat is killing me and my sinuses are draining. Ugh. Anytime but now. I’m tieing up all loose ends for my job’s first special event, which is on Thursday. God, August 26 sounded so far away two months ago. I ate my breakfast and walked across the street to Walgreen’s. Sidenote: Why does it take me soooo long to figure out which over the counter meds to buy? I must’ve stood in that aisle for 10 minutes just staring at all the different boxes, reading the symptoms they cure. Anyway, after much deliberation, I walked out with some Wal-Fed-D something and a box of Chewy Lemonheads. They’re almost gone. I’m addicted, so don’t judge me.

Next, this natural hair thing…..Ugh. Sometimes I think it’s not for me. I’m trying to be patient and find other things to do with my hair, but to no avail. I’m not completely satisfied. Only maybe 55 percent. That’s not enough. Right now, I have a ton of crinklies/curlies from a bantu knot set my friend did on Friday. I’ve gotten compliments on it, but eh. Why am I going natural again? If you know, tell me in the comments.

I just checked my class roster for school. It’s full to capacity. For a 7 p.m. class. Great. I’m taking this week tog get myself together for this semester. I tweeted that I hope the students aren’t stupid. I meant that. They may ignorant when it comes to public speaking. No problem, that’s what I’m here for. I’m not looking forward to the tricks they may try to pull to get over on me. I suppose it comes with the territory though. These are college students we’re talking about. Let me be a little bit more positive.

Finally, yesterday’s church service was pretty good. The pastor spoke about mentorship and getting what God wants you to have. Sometimes we make mistakes that throw off of our paths to destiny. To avoid those traps, we may need to let go of or reevaluate the following:

Family. Those people who hold us back mentally, emotionally and financially.

Friends. Keeping up with the Jones and instant gratification to maintain friendships will never work.

Jobs. You may have a job that simply is not for you (anymore). God is sending clear signs that now is the time to take a leap of faith and increase your skills and education something new. He did stress that leaving a job and not having another one lined up is not the smartest thing to do.

Relationships. A significant other could also be holding you back.

Great points. One, in particular, resonated with me. It’s time to make some moves.

Other than that, it’s been a pretty blah day. I can’t wait to blow this popsicle stand, take my meds again and go to sleep. I hope I don’t have dreams about True Blood again. It’s getting way too gruesome for me. I also had a dream that I was back in PR again–working at New York agency. I wonder what that means.

Signing off.

One thought on “I Can’t Think of a Title. It’s Monday.

  1. Whenever I grow tired of my curls I just blow my hair out for a few days. I think your hair should be fun and if you’re not loving a look change it up. Rock a weave. Get twists. Blow it out. There are too many options to not be happy with your hair.

    In terms of being natural, I was never the best at keeping up the health of my hair with a relaxer, not to mention relaxers and even texturizers made my hair bone straight. Bone straight = boring. I took the time to learn how to handle my natural curl so that I could rock blowouts that I felt were orgasmic lol and my hair has made a complete turn around! It’s beyond healthy now and I’m glad I found something that worked for me.

    Natural hair is really just about you dealing with yourself in the rawest, most basic form. You’ve been relaxing, etc for X amount of years so understand that it takes time and genuine effort to learn how to care for you hair w/o the added chemicals, etc. Just stay optimistic and try finding what styles work for you.

Leave a Reply

