Late Nights & Early Mornings: Up Close With Marsha Ambrosius

Ironically, the title of Marsha Ambrosius’s upcoming album is a complete description of  last 24 hours of my life. Last night the unthinkable happened. I went out during the week–to a club. I haven’t done that in ages, but this was special.  The English girl with the golden voice, Marsha Ambrosius, formerly of Floetry made a stop here in Memphis to promote Late Nights & Early Mornings, her highly anticipated solo debut. For years, I’ve longed to see Floetry live, so I couldn’t pass up the chance to see Marsha.

Miss Ambrosius was wonderful! She’s yet another added to the very short list of artists who sound exactly like their studio records. Her voice and range were flawless, even through the crackling speakers in the venue. Though an artist for a little over 10 years, she has a songwriting and producer catalog out of this world. She hit the stage at 12:30 a.m. exactly with “Butterflies,” written for and recorded by Michael Jackson and went on to some Floetry songs, even singing those requested by her Twitter fans like “Feelings” and “Getting Late”. And if you’re wondering, yes, she did perform, “Say Yes” and paired it with her feature in Jamie Foxx’s “Freak’in Me.”  It’s safe to say that she had everyone wanting to yes to somebody.

The crowd singing “Butterflies” with her. Delighted much?

“You make me so, so, so, so….”

We were all still feeling that “Say Yes” medley. A little too much.

She’s full of personality and connects with the crowd well, a skill that seems to come naturally. How can you not love the woman who wrote “I Hope She Cheats (on You With a Basketball Player)”? That lovely English accent doesn’t hurt, either. In less than 40 minutes, she talked about the best sex she’d ever had, dropped the F-Bomb, and threw up the middle finger, all while doing so in glittery hot shorts, fabulous curly hair and flawless makeup. A lady, indeed.

I was slightly disappointed to find out that the album won’t drop until January 4, but patience is required when waiting on GOOD music, such as hers. She performed a few songs on the new album, Late Nights & Early Mornings,  such as one written with Alicia Keys. BANGER. I’m sure Ambrosius’s solo efforts won’t disappoint, so we, faithful fans, will hold on to mixtapes and even old Floetry albums until that time arrives.

Admittedly, I Twitter, Facebook and email stalked her for days for an interview. It didn’t happen, but look what I saw once my no-battery-life-having iPhone recharged….

Where was I by the time I read that tweet? At home wrapped in my terry cloth robe. What an #ultimateFAIL. So, I missed out on the opportunity to meet Marsha and I have a slight headache due to sleep deprivation, but atleast I witnessed her talent live and up close. I look forward to January 4 and even more live performances. Check her out at www.marshaambrosiusmusic.com/ or on Twitter . Clearly, she actually tweets back.

Late nights and early mornings.

2 thoughts on “Late Nights & Early Mornings: Up Close With Marsha Ambrosius

  1. Hey Alisha…. Wonderful post! I had an opportunity to go, but couldn’t make it. Thanks for making me feel like I was there!

Leave a Reply

