Thankful

I’m sitting up in my bed watching the Macy’s Thanksgiving Parade, preparing to work on a story. It’s cold and gloomy outside, but warm and toasty in my house. I’m going to my mama’s house later on, so she can teach me how to make her dressing (again), and tomorrow, I’ll be traveling to New Orleans to enjoy yet another Bayou Classic with family and friends.

I am thankful.

I would be lying if I said I don’t complain about things every now and then. I’m not where I thought I would be, nor am I doing what I thought I’d be doing at this point in my ife. The crazy thing is, I don’t know if I ever really had a specific plan for my future,  but I did have an idea. But what are ideas without implementation and follow through? Yeah.

However, when I really take time to think about it, I can’t help but be thankful.  For years, I sat in church watching people hoop and holler, shout and nod their heads about thankfulness to God for little things. As I’ve gotten older, I get it. I can sleep peacefully in a warm bed in my own home. I have sufficient income to take care of my needs and wants. My job is not fulfilling, but doors in other areas keep opening.  Though few in number, I have an awesome family and great friends.  

So, though my granny isn’t here with me physically, I thank God because He sends her to me in my dreams. Three years ago to date, I was in the hospital with my Daddy after suffering a heart attack and stroke. Today’s he’s alright. I am blessed, and I don’t take that for granted. Sure, I could wish to saunter up and down the brightly-lit streets of New York City, be a well-known writer or travel across the globe, but the things that really matter, I already have, I already do. I must be thankful for what I have before I can be taken to the next level.

Today, I will bask in the blessings God has bestowed. He’s greater than great.

Happy Thanksgiving!

One thought on “Thankful

Leave a Reply

