A Prayer for Joplin

I had another post drafted for today, but I can’t post it until I do this first.

Yesterday, I watched a few minutes of coverage of the devastation in Joplin, Missouri. While I waited on my breakfast in the cafe, one of the employees there talked my ear off about how sad it was and how badly she wanted to go there to help, but couldn’t because of school. She seemed so connected to the tragedy that it was almost eerie. I told her she could always donate money and send care packages to disaster relief organizations. It was probably my appetite making me so aggravated, so I took one last glance at the television and went on about my day.

I didn’t look at television last night, but watched Good Morning America like usual this morning, and of course, the tornado took up most of the first hour. Finally, I sat down and really watched. I listened to survivors’ stories and those who were looking for their loved ones who could be trapped in the rubble, but didn’t even know where to begin. A young black woman who was trapped in Wal-Mart said everything she had was gone. She asked for prayers.

I cried. For a while. For them and their families who were still missing or victims of the storm. For their town that’s basically gone. Between my tears I did what that young woman asked. I prayed for them.

Lord, 

It’s times like this that you have to ask why. You are great and in control of everything,  but some things we can’t understand. All I can do is ask that You strengthen the people of Joplin. Show them that You are still there when they have to be asking, “Where is God in this?” Restore not only the town of Joplin, but people’s lives, and for those who don’t believe, their faith in You. I know that they will recover with the country’s help, so give us a spirit of compassion and giving. Be who You are for them in all of Your power. 

Amen.

Note: Text “REDCROSS” to 90999 to make a $10 donation, or visit the website to donate, give blood or volunteer or JOPLIN” to 80888 to make a $10 donation to the Salvation Army. You can also donate through their website or by calling 1-800-SAL-ARMY. More outreach information is here

Leave a Reply

