14 Days

I guess I should update you on what’s going on with me so far. If you’ve been reading, you know that I’ve committed a major no-no, which is not posting for over a week. I haven’t worked in two weeks, so there should be plenty of time to blog, right? Nah. I’ve been glued to this computer doing other stuff. Other stuff that’s more important than giving you my opinion on the tomfoolery going on in the world today (imagine that!).

In the past two weeks, I’ve been to the unemployment office three times AFTER I filed my claim online. I’ve applied for food stamps. I’ve applied to jobs atleast 2-3 times daily, had two phone interviews for jobs, received a rejection letter for one,  lost a contract opportunity in facilitation, got the green light for a story for a local pub only to find out it won’t happen. On top of that, I have a houseguest, and she’s 18. The golden age of psudeo-independence. Oh yes, it’s been a very busy 14 days.

But I’m still bored to tears. I know. I need to sit my ass down right? LOL.

I am though. In fact, that’s all I’ve been doing, give or take a few walks in the park or a trip to the magazine section in Starbucks (at the mall). Oh, and sleeping. I, once the Queen of Sleep, am tired of it. Turns out, this doing nothing thing is exhausting. The great thing, though, is if I don’t have anywhere to go, if I so choose, I can take an impromptu nap anytime I feel like it. There’s no better freedom.

Don’t get all inspirational on me and tell me I can go out and explore nature, become a tourist in my own city, yadda, yadda. I know that, and I am doing that to a degree. I think I’m still wrapping my mind around not going to a job every day. Last night, I thought to myself, “I can’t watch ‘Girls’ at 11:30. I won’t be able to wake up in the morning.”

Wake up for what? To go to work…or watch The View? Because I surely did the latter. In the last two weeks, I realized that daytime television sucks, all of the good movies come on in the mid-morning, Parks and Recreation is my new favorite show and I might like bacon more than sausage as far as breakfast food goes.

I’m living the life over here, people.

The good news is I’m writing more and I haven’t gone a day without opening my blinds and letting the sunshine in. I’m still moving and still smiling.

I’m off to fill out some more applications.

One thought on “14 Days

  1. I know this life far too well. Time off, sometimes, is good for resting the soul though. 🙂

    The only thing that gave me back some structure and pulled me out of the ‘it is exhausting doing nothing phase’ was to start working part time. Who frigging knew?

Leave a Reply

