Teedra Moses Talks New Album, Relationships and Moving On, Part I

teedra mosesIf you know me, you know I’m the founder and president of the Teedra Moses fan club (atleast in my head) Check out my two-part interview with her where she discusses her new music, her inspiration for songwriting and what her message to fans is this time around. Part II will be posted next week!

Singer/songwriter Teedra Moses had recently finished wrapping up a video shoot for her new single, Cant’ Be Luv,” recently released on Black Moses Music when she hops on the phone to talk about what’s in store for her and her fans. That’s right, The Lioness will drop her long-awaited album, Empress Pride Collection, on June 25. It’s her first major project since her debut album, Complex Simplicity in 2004.

Like always, it was like talking to an old friend.

Moses is known for bringing sexy love anthems like “Be Your Girl” and “Kisses Never Taste So Sweet,” but this time around, her inspiration comes from a different place. “I’m feeling very strong and empowered, but also wanting and feeling the need for the comfort of a man,” she says.

So, be prepared for a new vibe on this project, which features seven to 10 tracks, as she tackles where she is in her womanhood and music career. “I’m not 25 anymore, you know what I mean, so I’m not writing as a 25-year-old young woman. I’m writing as a grown ass woman in my 30s. I just make records, that’s who I am.”

Moses has been in the trenches working as an independent artist, gaining fans by releasing mixtapes like the Young Hustla Compilation series and giving live performances throughout the country. In 2011, the world waited for more music from Moses after it was reported on Twitter that she’d signed to Maybach Music Group, but Moses says no contracts were signed. She’s definitely affiliated with the platinum hip-hop label, lending her sultry voice to a list of MMG hits like “Self Made” and “Amsterdam.”

“I’m not 25 anymore, you know what I mean, so I’m not writing as a 25-year-old young woman. I’m writing as a grown ass woman in my 30s.”

“We were in talks of it, and it just never came about,” Moses says. “We definitely respect each other’s talent and if they need me to sing on anything, I’ll sing. If I need to reach out to them, I’m sure they’ll do the same for me.”

Two years later and countless live shows in, it was a stint in the UK that pushed the former fashion stylist to release new music. She performed mostly in London, where her fan base is just as large as it is in the States. “It all kind of helped me to get myself to this place where like, yo, I gotta put out music. I can’t keep waiting for people that say that want to support the project to do that. I have to just do that myself.”

She’s a self-starter, for sure. To keep her sound fresh, but consistent, she’s been working with other musicians and artists who fly below the radar. “I connect a lot with underground producers, up and coming producers for a different sound than what’s is already in the marketplace,” she says. “That’s kind of what the album is full of. It’s very musical, but at the same time, it’s got that modern sound to it, as well. I’m really excited about it.”

Yes, there’s a U.S. tour in the works, too, beginning in July. Teedra won’t be the headliner though. “Instead of me going out by myself, I would prefer to go out with someone with a bigger fan base,” she says. “I just try to build my movement and expand it as much as possible. I’ve been so blessed to carry so many people with me from the beginning and then gain people along the way.”

Bottom line: It’s Teedra’s time to shine. “Witness what I’m doing and if they like it, they can get down with it; if they don’t, they can pass on it, but I just feel like I want to give people the opportunity to see it.”

We know it’ll be worth the wait.

Check back next week for Part II of Teedra’s interview. 

 

12 thoughts on “Teedra Moses Talks New Album, Relationships and Moving On, Part I

  1. I Loved the interview can’t wait for Part II!!! I been a Teedra Moses fan since 03-04 I remember hearing you’ll never find at a hotel party and was like who’s that singing lol. I love Teedra Moses… I’m very proud and excited for whats to come for her, to the world yall ain’t see nothing yet!!!

  2. I think we can both agree that its been past time or Ms. Teedra to shine. The mixtapes are all well & good. And I believe she can headline anywhere just performing her material from those. I can’t wait to hear what’s she’s cooked up. Like you said, it’ll be worth the wait. That I’m certain of. And yes, I’m listening to her mix of mixtapes as I’m writing this. Very good interview, Alisha!!!

  3. Pingback: Teedra Talks New Music, Relationships and Moving On, Pt. II | Because I Said So

  4. I really enjoyed reading this article, it gave me a better look into who Teedra Moses is as a artist and a person. Great article I’m looking forward to reading more of your articles.

  5. I’ve been a fan of Teedra the Underground Titan since I saw the video for “Be Your Girl.” I don’t think I’ve ever experienced a musical artist who seemed to have a song for nearly every emotion that I feel in my own life. She’s gotten me through some hard times, and I’m glad to see that no matter what she’s not giving up on her dream of being an artist. She’s a true example of overcoming all obstacles and accepting whatever life brings your way. A true inspiration.

    Thanks for the interview!

  6. Nice interview, she keeps it real always! she is underrated and definitely underexposed. I wish tvt would’ve got it right the first time and built some fire under her because the people were watching and waiting! don’t worry we still are teedra!

Leave a Reply

