I’m a Grown Woman #31WriteNow

Let’s talk about being grown. And being a woman.

So I’ve been wanting to write about this for awhile, but never got around to it. After swapping perspectives with a few girlfriends, I put it to bed because I didn’t know how to introduce it in writing form. Then came Beyonce.

I know, I know…Her. AGAIN.

She finally released the full version of “Grown Woman” yesterday after that tease snippet of a Pepsi commercial in March. Then, I didn’t like it. I thought, “Okay Bey, who are you talking to exactly and who cares?  You’re married and have been, a mother over 30.  And don’t forget a one-woman empire. We get it:you’re grown, boo. Next.” I took time to listen to the words after being transfixed on the African beat, and yes, Bey. Yes.

They love the way I walk
‘Cause I walk with a vengeance
And they listen to me when I talk
‘Cause I ain’t pretending
It took a while, now I understand
Just where I’m going
I know the world and I know who I am
‘Bout time I show it

I guess sometimes you gotta let the people know in case they forgot.

I still grapple with age occasionally and have said that I often don’t feel like an adult. Sometimes I do feel like a kid who just so happens to have a job and make my own living. Almost like it was something I fell into, though I know it had to be intentional whether I wanted it to be or not. Sometimes I “look” the part, then sometimes I don’t. Then there are more times when I feel like a woman, which is different than feeling like an adult. It’s not always when a teenager or kid has addressed me as “ma’am” (grrrr) , I get a second (or third) glance from a man or my mom telling me I’m “almost middle-aged ” that tells me either.

Sometimes it’s just a feeling. I can’t put my finger on it. Maybe when I’m getting dressed to go out or when I’ve nailed something at work. Or a quick glance in the mirror. Something just clicks. I imagine it’s different for every woman.

So my question is: What makes you feel like a GROWN WOMAN? Is it the ability to live on your own? Put it down in the bedroom? Motherhood? Taking care of a spouse or mater? Handling your affairs in a proper way, personal or professional? Body shape? Do tell!

Y’all know I wouldn’t let you leave without hearing the song, right?

http://www68.zippyshare.com/v/90382207/file.html

2 thoughts on “I’m a Grown Woman #31WriteNow

Leave a Reply

